My name is Ana Rodriguez;

I am a new mom and living independently. I am 21 years old and I’m proud of the accomplishments I’ve made over the past few months.

I met my new care manager, Elayne Mosher-Campoli, when I was six months pregnant. I needed a safe place to live and services to help me prepare for my baby’s arrival. My care manager got right to work contacting all my providers and helping to coordinate all my care needs.

When I found an apartment I wanted to move into, Elayne helped me apply for an OPWDD Housing Subsidy contract. Community Transition Funds helped me move by providing reimbursements for furniture and other moving expenses to help me get settled. The OPWDD contract will continue to support me by paying a portion of my rent every month.

My baby, Joshua, was born on January 2, 2021. When the hospital questioned my ability to give consent for medical care after the birth of my baby, Elayne helped by consulting with a lawyer from Mental Health Legal Hygiene Services to advocate for my rights. My family is providing me with lots of support, and I love being a mom and spending time with Joshua.

I have lots of goals for my future and the future of my family. To help me achieve my goals, Elayne assisted me with a referral to Community Options for community habilitation. I recently started with a staff who meets with me several times a week. I’m also taking parenting classes via Zoom and I’m doing everything I can to be a good parent and to be more independent. I am thankful to have Elayne’s consistent support to help me through whatever comes up.